July Sephora Play Box Review

Does anyone else love getting mail? I especially love mail when it is a mini box of surprises in the form of a Sephora Play box. Even though I normally spoil it for myself by looking up ahead of time what is in the box-I still look forward to getting them. This month’s Sephora Play Box theme was Effortless Summer. I love the idea of easy products to wear/use on the go. However out of my past three beauty boxes this one was my least favorite.

Ouai Wave Spray:This wave spray by celebrity hair stylist Jen Atkin was the item I was most looking forward to. Jen’s new hair care line OUAI has gotten a ton of positive media buzz, so I was excited to try something  from the line that I typically use on my hair. However this wave spray a total flop. I would describe it as hair perfume. It literally did nothing for my hair. I tried it wet, dry, lots of product, a small amount but nothing gave me those beachy waves. The only good thing I can say about this product is that it smells amazing. Major disappointment.

beautyblender blotterazzi  by beautyblender: I decided I wanted to use this product as a beauty blender rather than its intended use as a oil-blotting sheet. Since it is made out of the same material, It works great for blending in my bronzer and highlight. My favorite part of July’s box was that it came with a micro-sample size of the BeautyBlender brush cleaner. It reminded me that I haven’t washed my brushes in way too long, and needed to.


NEST Citrine: One of my favorites out of the bunch of products this month. I am a huge fan of Nest and have a mini rollerball set of theirs. I think their fragrances last all day and smell divine. Citrine was no exception. The notes are: Lemon, lotus flower, and fresia. A lovely mix of citrus and springtime-ness.

Benefit Cosmetics Dew the Hoola Soft Matte Liquid Bronzer: I was looking forward to trying this product because I loved the sample of the BareMinerals Liquid Bronzer Serum from the last box. This one is matte and I found it harder to blend in since it is more pigmented. I need to play around with it a little bit more to find out how I like wearing it.

First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser: Was super excited to get another skincare sample! I love First Aid Beauty’s Instant Oatmeal Mask and was expecting to love this product. I have been using for about three weeks and it is just blah. I like that it is gentle, but it does nothing special for me and I don’t get that “clean feeling” afterwards. Not bad, but nothing I would repurchase.

Smashbox Iconic Photo Finish Foundation Primer: I have no use for a primer in my makeup routine since I do not wear foundation. Was reading online that primer can be used for hair flyaways or a chaffing gel-but haven’t touched it. Will donate to a friend.

Leave a Reply

