Sephora Play Box June 2016 Review

This was my second Sephora Play box. For $10 you get 5 samples from brands carried in the Sephora store.

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 7.43.17 PM

The theme for this box was The Minimalist. I thought overall it was a great selection of samples from haircare, to makeup, to sunscreen. In summer I don’t put a ton of effort into my makeup look and prefer multi-use products and creams and liquids. I thought the theme was spot on and perfect for summer. When I saw the teaser in May, I was not excited for this box, but after playing with the products this past month, I am very impressed and found some hidden gems.

Bumble and bumble Don’t Blow It: My favorite sample from the June Box! Haven’t had much luck with the brand previously, but this hair cream  does give me that “blow-dry” effect. Love the light texture and how it makes my curls look! Very easy to use. Would consider buying.

bareMinerals bareSkin® Sheer Sun™ Serum Bronzer: This was the sample I was least excited for, however it has surprised me. This is essentially a liquid bronzer. It comes out of the bottle really dark, which scared me, but blends super easily and gives my skin that perfect sheer summer glow. I have never worn bronzer religiously in the past, but have liked the look of this on my skin so much that I have worn it four time last week. I apply it more like a blush along my cheeks and then a little along my hairline and rub it in with my fingers. It was a nice surprise and thought it went along with the summer theme.

BECCA Backlight Priming Filter: Highlights are some of my favorite products in my stash. I think they elevate a makeup look to a new level, but also look great with a little mascara and a tinted lip balm. This is technically not a highlighter but a primer. I have only used it on its own as a highlighter, and to me it is just okay. I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it either. It is very subtle and to me feels a little heavy on the skin. I do like that it is a liquid-which I prefer in summer over powder.  I talked with my makeup loving friend, who also subscribes to the box (Hi Jenna), about how the packaging dispenses way too much product at a time.  It is a pump, but there is no way to do a half pump. I feel like I waste product every time I use it, which is annoying.

tarte Tarteguard 30 Sunscreen Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF 30: I had received this previously when I bought the Sun Safety kit from Macy’s this year. Out of the 10 sunscreens I received, this was by far my favorite! The best part is that it doesn’t leave a white cast or feel heavy on your skin. You know how most suncreen’s you can feel and see on your face? This is without either, it is almost like I am putting on a moisturizer rather than a sunscreen! I also like that this is a “natural” sunscreen, so there are no harsh chemicals in it. Will repurchase when I run out of both samples!

Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara: I have so many unopened mascaras to go through. Adding another to the mix is nothing special to me. I am sure it is a great mascara, but is the product that I haven’t been excited to touch or test out. Future companies with subscription boxes: Don’t send me any more mascara!

Tocca Florence: This fragrance has notes of Bergamont, grapefruit leaves, crushed violet petals, and apple. When I first got my box and smelled this perfume sample, I hated it. But I decided to give it a try…And it has grown on me. I have worn it out a couple times out and I like that it different than my usual favorite scents. I also don’t smell Summer at all, to me it is more Spring. I cant see myself buying it, but was nice to try.

Leave a Reply

